September 22, 2023


News and Information

inews_default_featured image

PAGASA: TD Samuel expected to gain strength within the next 24 hours


Satellite image of TD Samuel,Nov.19,5pm/NOAA
MANILA, Philippines – PAGASA in a press briefing past 5 pm on Monday, Nov. 19, urged residents of areas in Tropical Depression Samuel’s path to be ready. It is expected to bring heavy rains and to intensify into a tropical storm.
It is already 505 kilometers east of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur, still over the Philippine Sea and is now moving northwest at 25 kilometers per hour (km/h), faster from the previous 15 km/h.
TD Samuel continues to have maximum winds of 55 km/h and gustiness of up to 65 km/h however within the next 24 hours it is expected to strengthen. It is expected to make landfall in the Eastern Visayas-Caraga area in the afternoon or evening, of Tuesday, November 20.
The following provinces are now under Signal No. 1:
  • Masbate
  • Samar
  • Eastern Samar
  • Biliran
  • Leyte
  • Southern Leyte
  • Bohol
  • Cebu
  • Siquijor
  • Negros Oriental
  • Negros Occidental
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Camiguin
PAGASA warned that moderate to heavy rain may trigger flash floods and landslides in Caraga, Eastern Visayas, Central Visayas, Negros Occidental, Davao Oriental, Compostela Valley, Bukidnon, Misamis Oriental, and Camiguin. And residents of these areas should be on alert, especially those near rivers, in low-lying communities, or in mountainous regions. 
PAGASA Administrator Vicente Malano also said in the press briefing that the winds may not be  strong but the heavy rains expected from Samuel could bring hazards.
“Nagwa-warning na nga tayo…. Nagbigay na po tayo ng flood advisories lalong-lalo na po doon sa Visayas at tsaka Caraga at Northern Mindanao,” Malano said.
(That’s why we’re issuing warnings…. We’ve given flood advisories especially in the Visayas, Caraga, and Northern Mindanao.)
Classes in for some parts of Visayas and Mindanao have already been suspended.

About The Author