December 8, 2023


News and Information

By Tonton Alcos Antogop



The police is ready to effect arrest on Daanbantayan Mayor Vicente Loot and San Fernando Vice Mayor Fralz Sabalones. That is according to Police Regional Director Brigadier General Debold Sinas. “Kung mugawas ang warrant of arrest, we will serve the warrant of arrest didto,” Sinas told reporters in a press conference in the Police Regional Office headquarters in Camp Sergio Osmena Sr. friday afternoon. Sinas said that the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) has been instructed by Pres. Rodrigo Duterte to file cases against Loot and Sabalones, two of the 46 alleged narco-politicians in the country which were named by the President last Thursday night.

Apart from its readiness to arrest Loot and Sabalones, Sinas also said that they are monitoring both. ‘We are monitoring them. That is the instruction of the President.” In its DILG website however, the DILG, upon the orders of Pres. Duterte has filed cases of grave misconduct, conduct prejudicial to the best interest of the service, conduct unbecoming of a public officer, and gross neglect of duty to the 46. DILG Sec. Eduardo Ano said that the cases are for the alleged involvement of the 46 to illegal drug trade and activities.

The DILG chief said that the 46 were included in the list after the alleged involvement of the respondents to illegal drugs were evaluated and judiciously validated by the Inter-agency Committee on Anti-Illegal Drugs (ICAD). ICAD is chaired by PDEA in coordination with the Philippine National Police (PNP), Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), National Intelligence Coordinating Agency (NICA), among others. The list originally included former Cebu City Mayor Michael Rama but he was not mentioned anymore by Pres. Duterte during the announcement in Davao City.

Rama is vying for the Vice Mayoralty seat with incumbent Vice Mayor Edgardo Labella as the rival of Mayor Tomas Osmena. Apart from Loot and Sabalones, the list also included three incumbent congressmen, 34 Mayors, 6 Vice Mayors and 1 Provincial Board Member. Prominently mentioned in the list is Iloilo City Mayor Patrick Jed Mabilog who however has resigned already since last year. Mabilog also did not file his candidacy for the May 13, 2019 polls. Mayor Loot is also not seeking reelection while Sabalones has not anymore reported to his office since last year.

About The Author