September 30, 2023


News and Information

JHAYLORD Castro (12)

JHAYLORD Castro (12) of Talisay City Aquastars drive past a Sibonga Pillars defender in this bit of action in the First District elimination of the Cebu Governor's Cup 2019 Inter-Cities/Municipal Basketball Tournament. Talisay City beats Minglanilla Archangels 97-89 to win the District championship and the P100,000 that they will use into the next round. (Photo from Cebu Provincial Sports Commission Facebook Page).

Sogod eliminates San Francisco to advance to the next round

By Rommel C. Manlosa


MELJAY Cuizon had a breakout game as he lead Sogod to victory over last year’s Finalist and the lone islander team standing, San Francisco following an 81-70 decision to secure a slot to the next round in the 5th District competition of the Cebu Governor’s Cup 2019 Inter-Cities/Municipalities Basketball Tournament at the Sogod Municipal Gym.

Cuizon, who averaged below 10 points in Sogod’s three wins in the elimination phase, equaled his average output in the first quarter, scoring 10 points of a rousing 29-11 start by the home team.

San Francisco failed to come up with momentous baskets that would change the complex of the game while the host squad continued to play excellent defense and produced answers to every point that the visitors scored the rest of the way.

A 16-point binge by Cuizon in the final period put San Francisco’s efforts all for naught.

Cuizon finish with the game-high 30 points, Chrislee Rivera added 20 and Aguzar Molinas contributed 11 points for Sogod’s first appearance beyond the elimination round while Ravi John Herda top scored with 15 points, Jayward Almacin had 14 and Jake Laurence Gonzales tallied 11 points for the eliminated Team San Francisco.

Sogod will face Danao City in the District championship which is slated on Friday at the Danao City Civic Center.

Danao City defeated Carmen 96-81 using a torrid 35-17 run in the opening quarter to secure a slot to the next round.

Meanwhile, defending champions Talisay City Aquastars dealt Minglanilla Archangels with a 97-89 defeat to win the P100,000 cash award for the District champions. Minglanilla settled for P50,000. The cash prize would be used to cover their expenses in the more grueling second round of elimination.

Also winning P100, 000 was Tuburan following its masterful 92-71 win over Balamban for the 3rd District crown.

Left to be determined and be declared District champions were Medellin and Tabuelan which will also have its championship on Friday in Medellin Sports Complex; and Alegria vs. Dumanjug for the 7th District title in Alegria Municipal gym.

About The Author