September 25, 2022


News and Information

Talisay Aquastars - Abarquez1

Season 3 MVP. Talisay City Aquastars center Kendrick Abarquez (no. 4) was voted unanimously to win MVP award by the Commissioners of the Cebu Governor's Cup 2019 Inter-Cities/Municipaliites Basketball Tournament. He will receive P10,000 cash prize for the MVP award plus P5,000 being a part of the Mythical 5 Team. (Photo by Christian Maningo)

Talisay City Aquastars center Kendrick Abarquez named Governor’s Cup 2019 MVP

TALISAY City Aquastars center Kendrick Abarquez lead the top individual achievers of the recently concluded Cebu Governor’s Cup 2019 Inter-Cities and Municipalities Basketball Tournament.
The reigning champion’s center who provided steady presence down low was named Most Valuable Player, beating more than 500 players from 42 teams participating in this year’s 21-&-Under province-wide cagefest.
Governor’s Cup commissioner Danny Duran and his deputy commissioners Ed Aguelo, Van Halen Parmis, Boy Murillo, Julian Macoy, and Rey Cañete were unanimous in their choices to hand the MVP award to the University of San-Jose Recoletos Baby Jaguars center.
Abarquez, who just turned 18 last Monday, has been an immovable force in the middle for Talisay on its two-year title run.  The son of the former  University of San Jose-Recoletos (USJ-R) Jaguars and PLDT Diallers pivotman, Rey Abarquez, showed his vast improvement by adding perimeter shots to his repertoire of offensive skills that added woes to the Mandaue City Ballers in the deciding Game 3 last Saturday.
Although his scoring average of 10.0 points per game in the Finals is not an MVP-like number, his defensive prowess and mere presence inside the paint was very valuable in helping the Aquastars win a back-to-back title.
Abarquez is set to receive the P10,000 cash prize for the top individual honors. He will get another P5,000 for being named into Mythical 5 Selection that includes two of his teammates from the Aquastars roster Keaton Clyde Taburnal and Clark Louis Ruedas, Gab Cometa from the runner-up Mandaue City Ballers and Albert John Sacayan of the 3rd placer ASB Balamban Ship Builders.
Cebu Provincial Sports Commission (CPSC) is now processing the release of the cash prizes including the team cash prizes, which is P500,000 for Talisay City, P300,000 for Mandaue City, P200,000 for Balamban and P100,000 for the fourth placer Minglanilla Archangels.