The newly elected LMP Cebu Province Pres. Christina Frasco and her fellow Mayors

CEBU CITY, PHILIPPINES- Called the unifying factor by its former prexy, Liloan Mayor Christina Garcia-Frasco is the newly elected president of the League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP-Cebu Province chapter). And she also made history for that, the very first woman who will lead the male-dominated 44 town mayors, nearly equalizing what her mother did way back in 2004, the first ever woman Governor of Cebu, where there are also 6 component cities.

“She is the unifying factor for all the Mayors in the whole province of Cebu and I am hopeful nga kun unsa man ang inyong suporta sa akoa during my incumbency nga unta mu subra or mo-doble ang inyong suporta to our new LMP Pres. Mayor Christina Garcia- Frasco,” Frasco’s predecessor Democrito “Aljun” Diamante of Tuburan said in his remarks after Frasco was elected “uncontested” by her fellow Mayors yesterday at Casino Espanol de Cebu.

Diamante, the LMP Cebu president from 2013-2019 who is now the Vice Mayor of his brother Danilo, earlier endorsed Frasco in a general assembly that he called prior to yesterday’s election. Frasco was very elated of the overwhelming support that she got vowing a consultative leadership which will contribute to the goal of her mother’s administration in making Cebu the No. 1 province again in the entire country. “Nalipay kaayo ko na nahatagan ko sa atung mga mayor sa ilang pagsalig ug suporta nga gipili ko nila isip presidente sa LMP.

I’m really grateful to all of our Mayors for their resounding support,” Frasco told reporters later in an interview . Frasco also revealed that she would help her fellow Mayors in responding to the call of DILG Cebu director Jerome Gonzales to make their towns acquire the Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) by putting an active Municipal Local Government Operations Officer (MLGOO) who will see to it that the municipality concerned will do their actions based on the SGLG criteria.

Frasco also said that LMP Cebu will be digital, have its website and apps that the mayors can access to help them out. “I think it is also very important to bring the LMP to the digital age so we will be introducing innovations in IT sa atong LMP. We will have our very own website and an APP for the resource of the Mayors as far as to the common questions that we all face.” Asked whether she is eyeing a higher elective position in the future as she has the support of all the town mayors, Frasco wittingly answered that aside from her task as the league’s president, she is focused on their municipality as Liloan seeks to be another component city.

“Right now, i am fully focused, first of all, in fulfilling my commitment to my constituents in the municipality of Liloan especially as we are further strengthening our drive towards cityhood. This great privilege that has been conferred upon me by our mayors as their President is one that I do not take lightly and I plan to ensure a fully functional LMP. I have no, my sights are not set yet on any other goals in the future, focused on fulfilling my works.”

“Well kahibawo ka whether ang pagpadayun nimo isip mayor, ang pag-adto didto sa mas taas nga posisyon depende ra gyud na sa katawhan, so I will not dare to say that I wish to be this and that, all I can do really is my best in the mandate that has been given to me” she further answered when pressed if she will run for Governor someday. A lawyer out of the prestigious Ateneo de Manila law school, Frasco is also the wife of Cong. Vincent Franco “Duke” Frasco, who for himself is known for ending the political reign of the Durano’s in the 5th district of Cebu province.

The rest of the LMP Cebu officials are as follows: Vice Pres. (VP) for internal affairs-Barili Mayor Marlon Garcia VP external- Balamban Mayor Alex Binghay Secretary- San Fernando Mayor Lakambini Reluya Treasurer- Daanbantayan Mayor Sun Shimura Auditor- Cordova Mary Therese Sitoy- Cho PRO- Pinamungajan Mayor Glen Baricuatro Board of Directors 1st-Sibonga Mayor Lionel Bacaltos 2nd- Argao Mayor Allan Sesaldo 3rd- Aloguinsan Mayor Cesare Ignatius Moreno 4th- Medellin Mayor Joven Mondigo 5th- Borbon Mayor Noel Dotillos 6th- Consolacion Mayor Joannes Alegado 7th- Malabuyoc Mayor Lito Creus 8th- San Remegio Mayor Mariano Martinez (he was elected as the eight BOD, aside from the district BOD’s to complete the 8 member BOD that is allowed by the LMP). /AAJ with reports from Hughie Lenis


The newly elected LMP Cebu Province Pres. Christina Frasco and her fellow Mayors