Fresh mandate for Tolentino

INTEGRATED Cycling Federation of the Philippines (ICFP) president and Cavite congressman Abraham Bambol Tolentino earned a new mandate following his victory over his challenger lawyer Jesus Clint Aranas of the World Archery Philippines (WAP) in the Philippine Olympic Committee elections held at the East Ocean Palace Restaurant in Paranaque City this afternoon (Nov. 27, 2020).

Tolentino who won the special election conducted in July last year earned 30 votes from the 53 voting members from the different National Sports Association (NSA) and personalities while Aranas garnered only 22 votes.

Winning alongside Tolentino were his partymates with Team Performance that includes Al Panililio of Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas as vice president, Ormoc City mayor Richard Gomez of Phil. Fencing Association and Modern Pentathlon won the 2nd vice-presidency race, gymnastics head Cynthia Carreon-Norton won the treasurer post, Joaquin “Chito” Loyzaga of the Philippine Amateur Baseball Association won the race for auditor.

Three of its candidates for the executive board also won a seat each – this includes sports medicine and surfing president Jose Raul Canlas, who gathered the highest number of votes with 36, Pearl Anne Managuelod of muay thai with 31 and David Carter of Judo with 27. The other seat went to Atty. Charlie Ho of Netball who had the third highest votes of 28.

Steve Hontiveros of handball federation who was on Aranas’ Team Sports kept his chairmanship post after beating Tomas Carrasco of triathlon 28-25.

Panlilio meanwhile earned 30 votes to beat Philip Ella Juico of PATAFA, Gomez trashed Ada Milby of Rugby Football Union 31-22, Carreon-Norton bested Julian Camacho of wushu by 27-22 votes, and Loyzaga defeated weightlifting Monico Puentebella 27-24.

Losing presidential candidate Aranas promised to support leadership of Tolentino, whose new mandate will commence on January 21, 2021. RCM