Pringle wins PHI Cup BPC award

Stanley Pringle ( photo)

For the first time since 2013, the Best Player of the Philippine Cup is not named Junemar Fajardo, as early tonight, Barangay Ginebra Gin Kings guard Stanley Pringle copped the most coveted individual award in the Special PBA Awards, which takes place in lieu of the Annual Leo Awards.


Pringle finished only 6th in the statistical points department behind Bobby Ray Parks Jr. of Talk ‘N Text Giga, Calvin Abueva of Phoenix Super LPG, CJ Perez of Terrafirma Dyip, Matthew Wright also Phoenix and RR Pogoy of TNT Tropamg Giga was named the Philippine Cup Best Player of the Conference after accumulating a total of 1,600 points.


Finishing close second was Wright with 1,578 points.


Pringle had 641 statistical points behind Parks’ 704 sps. The Ginebra guard earned 632 points from the Media votes, which was second behind Wright’s 868 points, 67 from the Players’ vote and 300 from the PBA Commissioner’s Office votes.

Pringle’s consistent games that lead to Ginebra’s conquest of the Philippine Cup – the All-Filipino Conference, mattered most on the votes cast by the press covering and PBA commissioner’s office ballots.


The 33-year old Pringle is the first player to win the Philippine Cup BPC, since Fajardo won it six straight in 2014. The PBA 6-time MVP was sidelined after acquiring a shin injury last February.


Joining Pringle at the cast of Elite 5, which is equivalent to a Mythical 5 in the regular awards were teammate Japeth Aguilar, Phoenix’s Abueva and Wright and JP Erram of TNT.


Meanwhile, Ginebra Gin Kings ran away with almost all the individual titles except for the Outstanding Rookie award.


Gin Kings’ clutch player Scottie Thompson tabbed the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award beating Abueva, Perez, Kevin Alas of NLEX Road Warriors and Gabe Norwood of Rain or Shine Elasto Painters.


Another Ginebra stalwart Prince Caperal won the Most Improved Player award, besting Phoenix’s Justine Chua and Jason Perkins, Rain or Shine’s Javee Mocon, Raul Soyud of NLEX, and Meralco veteran Reynel Hugnatan.


The Outstanding Rookie title to Meralco guard Aaron Black, the lowest drafted player to win the award.


The former Ateneo Blue Eagles back up guard beat Ginebra’s Arvin Tolentino, Terrafirma’s Roosevelt Adams, Barkley Ebona of Alaska, and Magnolia’s Aris Dionisio.


PBA Season 45 was shortened to just one conference because of the coronavirus pandemic. The PBA decided to hold the “Bubble Philippine Cup” that started In October and ended with Ginebra winning the title following a 4-1 win over the TNT Tropanh Giga, in early December. RCM