September 19, 2021


News and Information Portal

CEBU CITY – Cebu-based teams underwent a major revamp as the third conference of the 2021 Professional Chess Association of the Philippines (PCAP) dubbed as PCAP/San Miguel Corp.  – Ayala Land Premier Cup open shops today, September 15, 2021.

The three RiChess Masters-backed squads – Cordova Dutchess Dagami Warriors, Lapu-Lapu Naki Warriors and Cebu City Machers will be parading a new set of players on the third and final conference of the country’s first professional chess league.

RCM’s  2nd conference banner team – the Dagami Warriors will now play Mark Mangubat at Board 1, Raymond Abellana will play Board 2, Marian Calimbo will be the new Lady player on Board 3, Odilon Badilles will occupy the senior slot at Board 4 and Neil Adrian Gelig, Romeo Resuera and Ariel Joseph Abellana plays the homegrown Boards 5, 6 and 7 while Bhell Ortiz and Marphine Faith Mangubat are listed as aleternates.

For the Lapu-Lapu Naki Warriors, the new players includes Elwin Retanal at Board 1, Edsel Montoya at Board 2, WIM Bernadette Galas at Board 3, Mario Mangubat at Board 4, Allan Pason at Board 5, Michael Joseph Pagaran playing Board 6 and Bryle Arellano at Board 7 Alternate players are Anthony Makinano, Merben Roque and Aldwin Daculan who will double as the team manager.

The set of players of Cebu City Machers are Jimmy Ty (Board 1), PCAP vice-chairman and RCM co-founder Arile Potot (Board 2), Christy Cabungcag (Board 3), Linky Yap (Board 4), Riche Evardo (Board 5), Rex Androe Cabuncal (Board 6) and Daniel Lorenzo Miñoza (Board 7). The alternate players include Rafael Perez, Dennis Navales, Kevin Cordiñera and Duane Borgonia. Its team manager is Dione Patrick Miñoza.

Twenty-one of the 24 teams that participated in the All Filipino Conference and Wesley So Conference will be back to the hunting ground. These includes Caloocan City , Cagayan, Cavite, Isabela, Laguna, Manila, Olongapo, Pasig, Rizal and San Juan for the Northern Division while Camarines, Cebu City, Cordova, Iloilo, Iriga, Lapu-Lapu, Mindoro, Negros, Palawan-Albay, Surigao and Toledo City are back for the south division.

Three teams who saw action on the first two conferences – the All Filipino Cup and the Wesley So Cup, took a leave of absence on the year-ending conference for varied reasons.

Absent from this conference’s rooster of teams are North’s Antipolo Cobras and Quezon City Simba’s Tribe while the lone south team Zamboanga Sultans.

However the action in this Open Conference will be three folds as guest teams will provide additional toughness to the tournament.

PCAP had invited three very strong local guest teams and three foreign teams to fuel more fire to the already scorching battle of wits. These teams include local guest teams Philippines National Para Chess Team, the Philippine National Junior Team and the Davao Executives Chess Society and the Foreign teams Penang Blue Panther, Team SinQGApore and Double Bishop of Bangkok, Thailand.

The Open Conference will follow as single round robin intra division games for Round 1. The Guest teams will see action on the second round along with the Top 8 teams in each division for an intra division games and one inter-division round.

The opening games for the southern teams includes Cebu City Machers vs. Toledo City Trojans, Cordova Dutchess vs. Surigao Fianchetto Checkmates, Iloilo Kisela Knights vs. Palawan Queen’s Gambit, Iriga City Oragons vs. Negros Kingsmen and Lapu-Lapu Naki Warriors vs. Mindoro Tamaraws. Camarines Soaring Eagles draw a bye for tonight’s games.

Up north, Caloocan Loadmanna plays San Juan Predators, Cagayan Kings vs. Rizal Batch Towers, Cavite Spartans vs. Pasig King Pirates, Isabela Knights Raiders vs. Olongapo Rainbow Team 7 and Laguna Heroes vs. Manila. RCM