December 8, 2021


News and Information


Revita tops Open class; Pagaran rules arbiter division in IA Neri Memorial Cup

CEBU CITY – Pangasinan native WFM Samantha Glo Revita ruled the Open category of the Ri-Chess Masters organized IA Wilfredo Neri Memorial Cup online tournament held Thursday, Sept. 30, 2021 evening.

Likewise, Cebuano Michael Joseph Pagaran topped the All-Arbiter’s Division competition in a separate competition held a day before.

Placing behind the 22-year old Revita were AGM Henry Lopez (2nd),  NM Joey Albert Florendo (3rd), Anadkat Kartavya of India (4th), NM Christian Gian Karlo Arca (5th), AGM Nezil Arj Merilles (6th), NM Cyril Felrod Telesforo (7th), IM Barlo Nadera (8th), AGM Irwin Aton (9th) and WFM Allaney Jia Doroy (10th place).

Completing the top 20 finishers were Apollo Agapay, Daniel John Lemi, Kevin Codiñera, AGM Emmanuel Asi, NM Oshrie Jhames Reyes, Joel Anthony Hicap, Emil Valeza and Christian Mendoza. Mendoza also pocketed the Top Aklanon Player title.

Diomel John Escutin conquered the TOP PWD player title, FM Jose Efren Bagamasbad earned the Top Senior Player award, Hans Lee Villorente won the Youngest Player title, Michael Linde was the Top RCM Player and Ian Glen Francisco won the Top PCTAP member title.

While placing behind Pagaran were FM Rustum Tolentino, NM Joey Albert Florendo, Irwin Aton, NM Alvin Alcala, Judemund Ramirez, Alfred Moulic, Rodigo Villa Jr., Joel Anthony Hicap and Mark Anthony Dulate complete the Top 10 finishers. Carlo Lorena meanwhile won the Top Luzon Arbiter title, Hanz Tutica the Top Visayas Arbiter and Cecilio Acas won the Top Mindanao Arbiter title.

Meanwhile, WNM Mary Joy Tan came out champion in the Women’s Category with WFM Doroy placing second, WNM Francois Marie Magpily finished 3rd, WFM Revita copped the 4th place finish, WNM Carmelita Abanes won 5th place, Kate Nicole Ordizo earned 6th place, ACM Yaneah Sofia Morada took 7th place, WNM Sara Francine Olendo came in 8th, WNM Mira Mirano wound up 9th and WNM Rinoa Mariel Sadey placed 10th.

In the Age Group categories, Anadkat Kartavya (IND) topped the Under 20 category, Khent Darylle Delig won the Under 16 class, ACM Joemel Narzabal topped the Under 14 event and Oshrie James Reyes ruled the Under 10 competition. RCM