June 7, 2023


News and Information


Reyes, San Diego rule MVPSF Secondary Chess

(Boys Division)

8 points—Chester Neil Reyes
7.5 points—Jan Clifford Labog
7.5 points—Mark Jay Bacojo
7 points—IM Michael Concio Jr.
7 points—Cyrus Vladimir Francisco
7 points—Johann Cedrick Gaddi
7 points—Tyrhhone James Tabernilla
7 points—Rigil Kent Rosell Pahamtang
7 points—Ronald Allan Velasco
6.5 points—Mark Gerald Reyes

(Girls Division)
8 points—Jerlyn Mae San Diego
8 points—Francesa Lagro
7 points—Ma. Elayza Villa
7 points—Rohanisah Buto
7 points—Anjela Monique Guno
7 points—Josemier Jene E. Panol
7 points—Cyhrea Ruth Atog
6.5 points—Princes Louise Oncita
6.5 points—Kate Nicole Ordizo
6.5 points—Lira M. Placer

MANILA—Chester Neil Reyes of National Capital Region halving the point with Cyrus Vladimir Francisco of Calabarzon in the eighth round before beating Ivan Travis Cu of the National Capital Region in the final round to emerge solo champion in the Boys category while Jerlyn Mae San Diego of Calabarzon bested Francesa Lagro of Calabarzon in the tie break points to capture the Girls crown in the just ended Manny V. Pangilinan Sports Foundation Secondary Online Rapid Chess Championship 2021 Palarong Pambansa Continuity Plan Pilot Event Luzon Leg virtually held at Tornelo Platform over the weekend.

The 16 year-old Reyes, a Grade 11 pupil of Nazareth School of National University finished 8 points, half point ahead with runner-up place Jan Clifford Labog of Cagayan Valley and third placer Mark Jay Bacojo of Calabarzon, both notches 7.5 points apiece.

Rounding up to the top ten (10) are fourth IM Michael Concio Jr. (7 pts.), fifth Francisco (7 pts.), sixth Johann Cedrick Gaddi (7 pts.), seventh Tyrhhone James Tabernilla (7 pts.), eight Rigil Kent Rosell Pahamtang (7 pts.), ninth Ronald Allan Velasco (7 pts.) and tenth Mark Gerald Reyes (6.5 pts.).

San Diego and Lagro, meantime, tallied 8 points each followed by third Ma. Elayza Villa of the National Capital Region, fourth Rohanisah Buto of Calabarzon, fifth Anjela Monique Guno of Calabarzon, sixth Josemier Jene E. Panol of National Capital Region and seventh Cyhrea Ruth Atog of Nationa Capital Region, who totes 7 points each.

Completing the top ten (10) are eight Princes Louise Oncita of Calabarzon, ninth Kate Nicole Ordizo of National Capital Region and tenth Lira M. Placer of Central Luzon, who scored 6.5 points each.

Palarong Pambansa Secretariat Dir. Ella Naliponguit and MVPSF Program Director Community Sports Youth and Development declared the winners.

Witnessed and assisted by Tournament Manager NA Jun Uka and Tournament Director IA James Infiesto.

The top Ten (10) winners will advance to the grandfinals./Marlon Bernardino-